September 14, 2025 – from 10 a.m.

OPEN MONUMENT DAY

The ice cellar in the Bennigsen estate park

A lot has happened since the ice cellar was last open to the public in September 2023. In the meantime, the listed building and the surrounding park have been carefully restored.

The magnificent natural stone façade from 1860 was cleaned, damaged areas were repaired and the original fall protection was reconstructed. Inside, the modern fixtures were removed, the vaulted ceiling was freshly plastered and the brick covering was replaced. The surrounding earth wall was reinforced on both sides, so that the cellar is now once again located in a shady spot, bringing it closer to its original appearance.

Guided tours:

Meeting point is the main gate (Am Gut 6 in Bennigsen). The tour goes through the farmyard, via the park to the ice cellar and back.

Sunday, 14.09.2025.

Guided tours at
10:00,
11:30,
13:00.

Missed the event? No problem! Make a note of the Open Monument Day® in late summer 2026. Then there is the next exciting building to discover on the Bennigsen estate.

Photos: Robin Tielker, Moritz Küstner